Four schools of ikebana



This oldest and first one school of ikebana, was founded in the 15th century, it is also the more traditional among all Japan schools of ikebana. The great masters of this school appeared in the imperial courts, and through the centuries to this day, Ikenobo school preserves a special bond with the monks teachings who were present in the beginning.

The Montreal Head of the Ikenobo is Mr. Raynald Donais,


The school appears in the 19th century when Japan starts opening to the rest of the world. It brings an intermediate vision between the tradition and modernity. Seasons and landscapes are the inspiration that brings the Moribana style, an arrangement landscaped in a flat and not too deep container. This school provided the use of the kenzan, a metal “spiky frog” tool.

The Montreal Head of the Ohara school is Ms. Lynne Williams,



The school was founded in the early 20th century and is inspired by the trends of the modern art. It brings a revolution to the ikebana traditional and classical approach. The Sogetsu style is close to what a sculpture reflects, with live or different materials than flowers.

The Montreal Head of the Sogetsu school is Ms. Diane Eggleton,

koryu shoutoukai

The school was founded in the 18th century at the same time Japan is
in its full splendor of the Edo period. As a principal section of The Koryu School, the Koryu Shoutoukai school keeps the traditional arrangement rules within the flower arrangements as a gravity center, while developing a tridimensional side of the artistic creation.

The Montreal Head of the Koryu Shoutoukai school is Ms. Kazuko Tanaka,